The Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE) was established in the Ministry of Agriculture in December, 1973. The Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE) coordinates and promotes agricultural research & education in the country. It has the following two autonomous bodies under its administrative control: (a) Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) and (b) Central Agricultural University (CAU), Imphal. 

DARE provides the necessary government linkages for the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), the premier research organisation for co-ordinating, guiding and managing research and education in agriculture including horticulture, fisheries and animal sciences in the entire country. With over 97 ICAR institutes, 53 agricultural universities, 6 Bureaux, 18 National Research Centres, 25 Project Directorates, and 89 All India Coordinated Research Projects spread across the country this is one of the largest national agricultural research systems in the world.

Apart from ICAR the Department of Agricultural Research and Education has one more autonomous body, viz. the Central Agricultural University, Imphal under its administrative control. The Central University, established in 1993, has its jurisdiction over the Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Sikkim and Tripura, and is wholly financed by the Government of India.

DARE is the nodal agency for International Cooperation in the area of agricultural research and education in India. The Department liaises with foreign governments, UN, CGIAR and other multilateral agencies for cooperation in various areas of agricultural research. DARE also coordinates admissions of foreign students in various Indian agriculture universities/ ICAR Institutes.

Krishi Bhawan, Room No. 120,First floor, Dr. Rajendra Prasad road, New Delhi, Delhi, 110001, India
Scientific discipline(s)
Geographic coverage