The Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) established the National Research Centre on Rapeseed-Mustard (NRCRM) on October 20, 1993 and redesignated it as the Directorate of Rapeseed-Mustard Research (DRMR) in February 2009 to carry out basic, strategic and applied research on rapeseed-mustard. Besides, generating basic knowledge and material, the Directorate is also engaged in developing ecologically sound and economically viable agro production and protection technologies. The Directorate has the responsibility of planning, coordination and execution of research programmes through wide network of 11 main, 12 sub- and 22 verification centres across the country to augment the production and productivity of rapeseed-mustard. A multi disciplinary and multi-location research programme on rapeseed mustard under the banner of All India Coordinated Research Project on Oilseeds headed by a full time Project Coordinator (Oilseeds) was started by the ICAR at New Delhi in April 1967. In the V five year plan, research programmes were further strengthened by setting up separate crop specific Project Coordinating Units. Accordingly, the unit of the Project Coordinator (Rapeseed-Mustard) was established on January 28, 1981 at Haryana Agricultural University, Hisar. Subsequently on the recommendation of the Task Force constituted in 1990 to select a suitable site, the ICAR established NRCRM at the site of an Adaptive Trial Centre, State Department of Agriculture, Rajasthan located at Sewar, Bharatpur in 1993. In February 2009, the ICAR re-designated NRCRM as the Directorate of Rapeseed Mustard Research (DRMR). The DRMR functions as a fulcrum to support the production system research for rapeseed (Brown sarson, yellow sarson, toria, taramira, gobhi sarson) and mustard (black mustard, Ethiopian mustard and Indian mustard) group of crops through 11 research and 11 service and support units. 

Directorate of Rapeseed-Mustard Research ,Near jail, Sewar, Bharatpur, Rajasthan, 321001, India
Scientific discipline(s)
Geographic coverage
Date approved
Thursday, April 27, 2017 - 16:00